MIA

20Aug09

I’ve been kind of off the radar recently because I’ve had a cold that just won’t quit. Last week it was pretty horrible and I stayed home from work for a day to recharge. It has progressively gotten better, but still over a week later is holding on. And since I’ve held my meds I’m getting achy. So not doing much else but resting. Not working out, not doing chores, not doing much at all.

I know I’ve written about guilt before, but this is one of those times where that inevitable monster comes creeping out of hiding. I start feeling guilty for all the things I’m not doing – not taking care of myself, not eating well, not keeping the apartment clean, not doing what I’m supposed to do.

So when I start with my “Not thoughts” I have tried to remind myself – you are doing things. You are resting, you are taking care of yourself, you are giving yourself a break.  It can be so difficult to change our thought patterns, to look at what we have instead of what we don’t have.  I try to be optimistic, but it isn’t my nature. I want to look  at what is possible, not impossible. And sometimes I just need a good jolt to get myself in that mode. Not doing things only matter if I stop them altogether. As long as I stay on track and get myself back in a routine once I am better, it will be fine. I think it is that danger I am most fearful of – letting myself fall out of my routine and letting my health decline.

So I guess it is time to have faith in myself and realize that feeling physically good is a stronger motivator than laziness.  And it won’t ruin everything to rest while you aren’t feeling well.

Here’s to hoping I shake this cold off  very soon!

One Response to “MIA”

  1. 1 Brian Kenney

    Hi Bionic Lady,

    I recently came across your blog, which I think is great. Your perspectives and posts go a long way in raising awareness about RA.

    On a related note, we recently launched an initiative/resource about RA that covers many topics that you speak to in your blog. It’s called New Way RA and is available at http://www.NewWayRA.com — take a look at the site and let me know your thoughts. Feel free to contact me via email and let me know your thoughts.

    I wish you all the best and continued success with your blog.

    Kind regards,

    Brian Kenney
    Centocor Ortho Biotech Inc.
    Corporate Communications


Leave a Reply

