More doctors fun

05Jul09

Went to my Rheumatologist on Thursday. The appointment went pretty well. My hands are still a bit swollen, but it was obvious the increase in Methotrexate helped. She told me I could increase it some more, but I decided to wait because the weather has been so rainy here that I think it has made my RA a bit worse the last week. She was very happy with my vitamins and exercise schedule. I think I’m finally getting into a groove with her, which is good.

I talked with her about the fact that the FDA may ban vicodin because if its use of narcotics with acetaminophen. She seemed satisfied with my use of it, but said she thought it would be completely taken off the market before I see her again. She wrote me a script for hydrocodone, which is apparently the same med, without the tylenol. But when I went to get the script filled they said that she didn’t put some kind of number on it for controlled substances.

I’ve never had issues with this before, so I’m assuming it was because of the change in prescription. So…since it was a holiday weekend I wasn’t able to get it filled. It was upsetting because I was thinking about walking around for the 4th, but I ended up going to a relaxing pool party instead. Honestly, I think I just got upset because it was just another glitch that I habitually run into when dealing with the medical field. And most of the time these issues have some sort of negative impact on my functioning. I just don’t like being limited. I am already pretty limited in my life and I like knowing I have the meds I need to do what I want to do. The point of the story is, that if you are on any meds like I am and will need to switch if the FDA does approve a ban, make sure your doctors appropriately fill out your prescriptions or get them filled during business hours. It will save you some aggravation.

As I mentioned, on the 4th of July I went to a fun pool party. However, I did not swim because the water was freezing and there wasn’t any railing to get in and out of the pool. I know my friends would have helped me, and I probably would have let them if I wanted to go swimming bad enough. One of my friends tried to get me to go sit with my legs in the pool because she didn’t want me to sit by myself. I explained that getting down on the ground is hard for me and that trying to do that on the edge of the pool would be very difficult. She was understanding and told me to let her know if I needed company.

This whole situation started me thinking about how my RA has created this habit where I negotiate with myself how much I want something. I often assess if I want to do something enough to bother others or feel embarrassed. I’m constantly evaluating a cost/benefit ratio in my head. Is the enjoyment I’m going to get from something worth the effort to get there? Sometimes it is, sometimes it isn’t.

The people who are close to me are pretty good about being understanding once I explain the particular issues about the situation, but they don’t usually think of it. Well, except my husband. My husband often assumes I can’t do things that I think I can. But that is another issue for another time.

I know that my anxiety has increased as my disease has worsened, which makes sense on many levels. But I think I tend to ruminate on things and the fact that I feel like I need to think through any possible scenario impacted by my RA has created or at the very least, reinforced this habit.

I wish I could do things without thinking, like my friends seem to do. And realistically, there may be some things that I could let go and let myself do. But finding that happy medium can be very difficult at times.

I guess I’ll let you know if I ever figure it out!

2 Responses to “More doctors fun”

  1. 1 RA Guy

    Pool party! How fun. Hope you had a great holiday weekend.

    Sorry to hear about the problems filling the meds. The “oh so important” number was missing. Whatever. Once I went to a CVS to buy some cold/flu meds, and was told that the register would only accept one item. So the cashier rung up one item on register #1, and then moved over and rung up the next times on register #2. Silly restrictions.

    I’d recommend to keep on prioritizing and doing what you really enjoy, it really helps. My theory is if I’m going to hurt anyways, I might as well do something fun. I’ve gone to see movies and not remembered anything afterwards due to my extreme pain, but at least I got out of the house.

    Hope summer in MA is being kind to you.

  2. 2 incandescentflower

    The medical system really has us jumping through hoops sometimes, doesn’t it?

    Unfortunately, our summer has been pretty cold and rainy, with only a few nice days this past weekend.

    I hope you are enjoying better weather than we have!


Leave a Reply

