My not-so-friendly immune system

16Apr09

So this week when I took my Enbrel, I got sick the next day. It was almost like a light switch. Ok one day, next day sick. I thought it was my allergies at first because it came on so fast. But alas, no. I’ve got some kind of cough and am having trouble breathing at night. Tylenol cold has been helpful though.

This isn’t the first time this has happened. Sometimes, I can tell I’m getting sick so I hold my meds until I feel better. But sometimes, I just get sick. I think that may be why I’m not always vigilant about taking my Enbrel. Even though I know that most times it makes me feel better, sometimes I feel worse and maybe I’m subconsciously trying to avoid that. Or maybe I’m just making excuses for my absent-mindedness.

I’ve been able to keep walking a bit, even though I haven’t felt well. But the strength training has been out. I feel as though I could use a weekend of bed rest, but I have a friend coming to visit from out of town so that is not very likely. She wants to go to see the Boston marathon on Monday because her friend is running in it, so maybe I can pass on that and stay home and rest.

Tomorrow evening I must get my feet x-rayed so we can see if my RA damaged them, or if it is all in my head. And next Tuesday morning will be my podiatrist appointment. Can’t wait to see what he says about my feet. I’m sure it will be wonderful.

One big thing to be thankful for: Tomorrow is Friday and this weekend is another long weekend. Yay!

No Responses Yet to “My not-so-friendly immune system”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

