Feeling better

04Apr09

After a restful day yesterday and a good night sleep last night, I am feeling much better. I still seem to be having some stomach issues, but it isn’t as bad as yesterday. And emotionally I feel better prepared to handle myself.

We’re planning on going downtown to meet family for lunch. So in preparation I put on the ointment on my foot and bandaged it up and took an anti-inflammatory. We’ll see how this goes. I’m hoping it works as well as my Rheumatologist seems to think it will. And if it doesn’t, well then it is more motivation to get in to the Podiatrist as soon as possible.

My working out has been interrupted by feeling sick and emotional stress. I do wish I wasn’t feeling so icky because I know that if I could get on the bike, it would help the emotional stress part. Maybe later today.

To help me evaluate my treatment needs and help my doctor,  I think I’m going to keep a log of my pain. Maybe I just need some perspective on how often I hurt and how intense it is. Maybe most of this reaction is just anxiety about not being able to help myself if I am really in pain. I’m starting to think this may be the majority of my reaction because when I think about the situation, I keep flashing back to times when I was in severe pain and felt hopeless. Times when I was basically on the floor aching and unable to move or make it better. Times when even meds didn’t help. Despite the fact that my medication management and surgeries have greatly reduced my pain, those times are still very real in my head. Maybe it is time to go back to counseling.

Wouldn’t it be great if they had psychiatric rheumatologists? or treatment teams with both? I know a lot of hospitals where rheumatology works closely with orthopedics. That makes sense to me, why wouldn’t the former? Really any doctor who deals with chronic illness should have some psychiatric training, in my opinion. Too bad that is only a pipe dream.

No Responses Yet to “Feeling better”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

