EA Sports Active for Wii

06Jan10

So I bought my husband a Wii for Christmas and my family got me the personal trainer Wii Active to go with it. After using it for a while, I couldn’t help think of the many benefits and difficulties with this program due to my RA.

Benefits:

  • This is an opportunity to work out at home, which is something that I always feel is helpful with my RA. I’m not always on a gym schedule and it is really convenient for me to work out when I have enough energy.
  • It comes with a thera-band. These bands work with resistance to help build muscle strength. This is really great when you have weak or damaged wrists, like I do. It also has many exercises that focus on shoulder strength, which my RA doc has emphasized with me because we don’t get a lot of work on those muscles during our day-to-day activity.
  • If an exercise requires a movement that is difficult, you can easily skip it and find something else to do. There are a lot of jumping exercises that I find uncomfortable, if not impossible. Fortunately, there is enough variety of activities that it isn’t a huge issue.
  • The program allows you to set attainable goals, record your progress and even uses games to keep it interesting. Ultimately, I have found it fun to work out.

Difficulties:

  • Although some of the jossling cardio exercises are easy to skip, it can often shorten your work out to do so. I often need to supplement my workout with a customized one to get a full workout.
  • There are no stretches or stomach exercises included in these workouts. You have to do these on your own if you want them as part of your routine. However, they have recently come out with a follow-up game that includes these exercises as well.
  • In general, the Wii remote helps give advice on form when doing exercises. However, I sometimes have trouble with it saying that my form is off or reading my motions. I think this is due to the fact that I have deformities in my wrist and there is no way for the program to take that into consideration.

Overall I would give this program a B in terms of being arthritis-friendly. Right now it is a new toy and has motivated  me to be active, which is ultimately the most important thing.

8 Responses to “EA Sports Active for Wii”

  1. I love the Wii for how it makes my kids more active, great to see your arthritis-centered review! After using a ChiliPad to help with my arthritis symptoms I decided to work with ChiliTechnology to promote it. The ChiliPad is a mattress pad that cools (or heats) any bed. They come in all sizes, they work using water, and they’re small and efficient. I used to take sleeping pills because the pain in my hips would keep me up at night. After playing around with the temperature I finally found a way to sleep through the night: heating up the bed a bit and then setting the timer to cool it down in the few hours before dawn is what works for me. For more info check out the site!

  2. EA Sports Active: More Workouts ,love it
    this is so much fun it doesnt seem like a workout, but when I check my HRM, low and behold I had burned 450 calories and was drenched in sweat! Especially love the obstacle course. I have both the ea active and ea more workouts. I like the more workouts better just because it had abdominal exercises (which I HATE doing, but are necessary for a full workout). Its lots of fun and best of all changes every day. I have tons of workout tapes but the only problem is that they get boring so fast. EA active and EA more workouts NEVER get boring. I highly recommend it!!

  3. Hello,
    As someone who blogs about RA, I thought you may be interested in a campaign called Hand in Hand for RA (www.handinhandforRA.com) that encourages people with RA to volunteer, share their stories and inspire others. The campaign is all about turning the tables on volunteerism and showing that people with RA don’t want to be held back by their disease – rather they can and want to give back to their communities.
    Feel free to check out the Web site!

  4. 4 Bird

    Arthritis pain sometimes become very much untolarateable. It should be diagnosed before it get worst. nourishing the joints through improving the circulation around the joint can results fantastic.

  5. i like your posting

  6. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wished to mention that I have truly enjoyed surfing around your blog posts.

    In any case I’ll be subscribing in your rss feed and I
    am hoping you write once more very soon!

  7. Pretty great post. I simply stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to
    say that I’ve truly enjoyed browsing your blog posts.

    In any case I will be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope you write once more soon!

  8. Since the admin of this website is working, no hesitation very shortly
    it will be renowned, due to its quality contents.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

