Lacking inspiration

23Sep09

So I’ve been meaning to post for a while, but for some reason I haven’t wanted to blog. Work has been exceptionally busy. I work in a college and the students are back, so there has been lots of chaos. Things are always more exciting when students are here.

Our walk went really well. There were tons of people there, my friends and their children had fun and the day was beautiful. Our team just met our goal of raising $1000.  Overall I would count it as a major success.

I’ve started a new work out routine that is going fairly well. During the week I have been trying to bike for 20-30 minutes in the morning. I’m hoping that at some point I will be able to sustain biking in the morning and in the evening, in addition to my strength training three days a week.

Right now, I would say I’m strength training an average of two days a week and biking most mornings and some evenings. I think that is fairly good results, but I have had some pain at times that has required rest and others times I can no longer fight the exhaustion and needed a break. I know that I am more physically fit than I was last year at this time. I no longer feel tired and short of breath from my walk to and from public transit when I commute. Ultimately, I think I’m doing fairly well, but I wish I could be stronger.

My arthritis is fairly quiet with some morning stiffness, although I seem to have one day a week where I have one major joint that bothers me. I’ve mentioned having some hip pain recently to my husband. It isn’t chronic. It has happened twice in the last four months. But he told me the other day that any mention of hip pain worries him. I know that I have my own trauma response when I’m feeling pain, but I don’t always think of his reaction. I’m glad he can communicate that to me now. In the past he may have just withdrew or gotten frustrated at something else. I think this shows that our communication is getting better and we are healing. It is a day by day process. We both continue to try to adapt to a constantly changing disease.

So things are going fairly well, but I’m hoping I can increase my status from fair to good.



2 Responses to “Lacking inspiration”

  1. The best thing I’ve found to deal with that morning stiffness (I have RA) is the ChiliPad – a mattress pad that lets you cool down (or heat up) your bed, mine lets me set any temperature between 46 and 118 degrees. At first I only used it days when the weather and my joints didn’t agree, but then I began using it every night after I realized how much better I sleep – and that my symptoms are reduced the next day.

  2. 2 incandescentflower

    Thanks for the tip! I’ll have to look into it.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

